Sunday, 29 December 2019

Full form of UGC | What is UGC?

Full form of UGC | What is UGC?

Full form of UGC: In this post, you will find the answers to all such questions of Full form of UGC, What is UGC, What is UGC Full Form, What is Full form of UGC, What does UGC work.

What is the full form of UGC and what is UGC

UGC Full form is the University Grants Commission. UGC is called University Grants Commission in Hindi. The UGC is a commission that grants Grants to all universities in the country. Apart from this, the University Grants Commission (UGC) also provides Affiliation to Colleges.

It is a statutory body which was started in 1956. It was established by the central government to maintain the standard of university education in India. Professor Ved Prakash was a great educationist when he started this institute. The headquarters of the UGC is in New Delhi. As of today, offices can be located in all major cities including Kolkata, New Delhi and Bangalore.

After independence, the Government of India thought that education should be given maximum importance from primary education to the highest level of education like a PhD degree. That is why they wanted to come up with a body that would ensure that education in India meets a certain standard. The UGC was originally looking at Aligarh University, Banaras University and Delhi University.

In 1957 almost all the universities came under the control of UGC. It is the only Grants granting institution in the country. It provides funds and it also arranges for the coordination and maintenance of universities in India.

UGC plays an important role in the education of the country. It has ensured that a system in higher education follows it. The UGC also ensures that education in all these top universities is of the standard so that students passing through these colleges can be considered as equal. India is a large country resulting in thousands of colleges offering various courses. It is difficult to guarantee that a typical standard is kept up. However, UGC makes this impossible task possible.

The UGC has been successfully playing its role for almost half a century and will continue to do so in future. One of the best ways to ensure that all these universities have the same education is to ensure that teachers are equally good. This is the reason that the final approval of the UGC is required before the appointment of a lecturer in any of these colleges.

The UGC was established in 1945 to oversee the Education System of 3 Central Universities Aligarh, Benaras and Delhi and then in 1947 increased the responsibility of the UGC and all universities in the country came under the supervision of the UGC.

UGC Chairman Name D.P. Singh is UGC's Head Office is in New Delhi and UGC's Headquarters are located in cities like Pune, Bangalore, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Bhopal, and Guwahati.

The UGC ensures that all the top universities of the country have the same level of education so that all the passed students from those universities are equal and to do this, the knowledge of all university teachers should be same.

The UGC also operates the NET, a qualification name that is required for an individual to teach in undergraduate and postgraduate courses. UGC also conducts National Eligibility Test NET, which is appointed by Professor Teachers in universities and colleges based on being passed. This NET qualification exam is exempted for M.Phil Passed people at graduation level and for PhD Passed people at PG level from June 2006.

There are sixteen institutions controlled by the UGC. Some of them are AICTE, RCI, DCI, etc. The decision of UGC is final when it comes to education in these institutions. In 2009, it was proposed that the UGC should be discontinued and the AICTE (All India Council for Technical Education) should play the role of the UGC. However, the UGC is still working.

UGC's most important objectives

UGC consists of many important objectives like -

Maintaining standards of research, teaching and examination in universities is one of the important objectives of UGC.

Promoting higher education is also one of the important objectives of the UGC.

Making rules to maintain the minimum standard of education in the country is also included in the important objectives of the UGC.

Working as a link between the central government and higher education institutions is also one of the important objectives of the UGC.

Advising the government to improve the education system is also one of the important objectives of the UGC.

UGC conducts 16 types of examinations for some of the highest education such as -

No. 16 types of examinations
1 Council of Architecture
2 Rehabilitation Council
3 Indian Nursing Council (INC)
4 Bar Council of India (BCI)
5 Medical Council of India (MCI)
6 Dental Council of India (DCI)
7 Distance Education Council (DEC)
8 Pharmacy Council of India (PCI)
9 Central Council of Homoeopathy (CCH)
10 State Councils of Higher Education
11 National Council for Rural Institutes
12 Rehabilitation Council of India (RCI)
13 National Council for Teacher Education (NCTE)
14 Central Council of Indian Medicine (CCIM)
15 Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR)
16 All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE)

Also, read what is ITI? Click here.

Post a comment

Please do not enter any spam links in the comment box.

Whatsapp Button works on Mobile Device only

Start typing and press Enter to search